

The CII–ITC Centre of Excellence for Sustainable Development (the Centre), established by ITC in 2006 in collaboration with the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), continues with its value added intiatives to create awareness, provide thought leadership, build capacity and award exemplary performance in the area of sustainability. It is steered by its Advisory Council, led by Mr Y C Deveshwar, Chairman, ITC Limited, and comprises members from industry, civil society and institutions, which provides strategic direction to the organisation.

The 12th edition of the Centre's flagship programme, the Sustainability Summit, was held on September 6-7, 2016 in New Delhi with focus on achieving Sustainable Development Goals by the year 2030. Key dignitaries included Dr Mahesh Sharma, Minister of State for Culture (I/C) and Minister of State for Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari, Union Minister of Road Transport and Highways, Shipping, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation, Mr. Sanjiv Puri, Managing Director, ITC Limited, and H.E. Mr Tomasz Kozlowski, Ambassador of European Union to India and Bhutan.

The CII-ITC Sustainability Awards recognise and reward outstanding contributions by corporates to sustainable development in the country. In the last 12 years, these Awards have set benchmarks for excellence in sustainable business in India. Since 2006, 696 businesses have applied of which 212 have been recognised so far. In 2017, the Centre received 105 applications for different Awards categories. 67 companies qualified for on-site verification that underwent rigorous evaluation by a team of CII-certified sustainability assessors, who spent approximately 1,000 man-hours per application over a period of six months. Of this, 24 companies were declared winners in various categories. The Centre has been engaged in policy dialogue with the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC) and the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) on plastic waste management, based on which an approach paper for implementation of Extended Producer Responsibility was prepared by the Centre and submitted to the Chairman–CPCB and the Joint Secretary, MoEFCC.

The Centre participated in the 23rd Conference of Parties under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change held at Bonn, Germany in November, 2017. The Centre organised the first session of the India Pavilion, which was inaugurated by Dr Harsh Vardhan, Minister of Environment, Forests and Climate Change along with a keynote address by Mr A. K. Mehta, Additional Secretary, MoEFCC.

The Centre organised regular member meetings, produced periodic newsletters, and conducted webinars and workshops for knowledge sharing and capacity building on Integrated Reporting. It was also involved in policy advocacy on integrated reporting. This year, the Centre also took a delegation to Amsterdam for participation in the global IIRC conference and hosted a session on the growth of integrated reporting in India.

The Centre promoted capacity building in sustainability through a range of training and consulting assignments. In 2017, almost 2,000 participants were covered through 75 programmes, conducted both in India and abroad. Topics covered included Value Innovation, CSR Rules and Impact Measurement, Sustainability Reporting, Integrated Reporting, cluster platform for transformative solutions, Human Rights, and Biodiversity.

ITC Sangeet Research Academy

The ITC Sangeet Research Academy (ITC SRA) which was established in 1977, is an embodiment of ITC's sustained commitment to a priceless national heritage. The Company's pledge towards ensuring enduring excellence in Classical Music education continues to help ITC SRA in furthering its objective of propagating classical music on the age-old principle of 'Guru-Shishya Parampara'. The Academy through its eminent Gurus imparts quality education in Hindustani classical music to its scholars. Padma Shri Pt. Ulhas Kashalkar, Padma Shri Pt. Ajoy Chakrabarty, Pt. Arun Bhaduri, Pt. Partha Chatterjee, Pt. Uday Bhawalkar, Vidushi Subhra Guha and Shri Omkar Dadarkar are the present Gurus of the Academy. The focus of the Academy remains on nurturing exceptionally gifted students, carefully hand-picked from across India, who receive full scholarship to reside and pursue music education in the Academy's campus under the tutelage of the country's most distinguished musicians. The objective is to create the next generation of masters to propagate the legacy of Hindustani Classical Music.